Games Encyclopedia Top Games PC PS4 PS3 Xbox One Xbox 360 Switch Android iOS Rankings Images Companies
Game Box for Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls (GBA)

Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls GBA

"Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls" is a conversion of the first two games from the Final Fantasy series released several years ago to NES (Nintendo Entertainment System).

RPG | fantasy | turn-based | 2D | reeditions/remasters/remakes | jRPG | Nintendo exclusive titles

Game Boy Advance
Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls cover

developer: Square-Enix / Eidos

publisher: Square-Enix / Eidos

Official website

Game mode: single player

English language game language: English

game release date for GBA:


Experience the beginning of the Final Fantasy saga all over again with all-new story elements and gameplay on the Game Boy Advance! All-new Soul of Chaos dungeons and Soul of Rebirth storyline vastly expands your Final Fantasy experience.


* The two classic RPGs that launched the Final Fantasy saga

* Enhanced battle, magic, menu and control systems

* New dungeons, storylines and characters

* Save anywhere

One of the first and most popular role-playing games ever, Final Fantasy tells the story of a kingdom in turmoil and the heroes who save it. Filled with many regions and side quests, Final Fantasy successfully blended fantasy and adventure, introduced many innovations and allowed players to build the characters in their party throughout the game.

Final Fantasy II follows the adventures of a band of freedom fighters struggling against an oppressive empire. In addition to a robust party system, the game now swaps out members of players’ parties, allowing them to experience an even grander story and more characters.

Final Fantasy

One of the first and most popular role-playing games ever, Final Fantasy tells the story of a kingdom in turmoil and the heroes who save it. Four young Light Warriors, each possessing a darkened orb that they must light, must restore order to a chaotic world.

Filled with side quests and regions to explore, this masterpiece brilliantly mixed fantasy and adventure, introduced many groundbreaking innovations and allowed players to build the characters of their party over the course of the game.

All-new bonus dungeons: Soul of Chaos Buried within the world of Final Fantasy are four mysterious dungeons. Although you can enter any of these at any time, at first you will see only a small room. However, every time you beat one of four Chaos forms, its vanquished soul unlocks one of the dungeons. Inside, you will find monsters from Final Fantasy 3-6, as well as rare and powerful items. The dungeon layout changes every time you enter. At the end of each dungeon, you must face the Chaos that you had previously defeated, now transformed into a powerful Evil Soul. Once you beat the Evil Soul and clear the dungeon, you can claim the rare treasures.

Final Fantasy II

This brilliant follow-up chronicles the adventures of a band of freedom fighters struggling against the oppressive Palamecia Empire. Not a sequel as much as an all-new story, Final Fantasy II's many innovations include a robust party system.

The Palamecia Empire has launched a campaign of destruction in its mad quest to conquer the world. The only ones who stand in its way are a group of orphans -- Firion, Maria, Guy -- and the small resistance organized by Princess Hilda of Fynn. When the Palamecians raze the town of Fynn, the young heroes begin a perilous journey to free their world from the empire’s oppression.

The main heroes -- Firion, Maria and Guy -- are joined by various characters throughout their journey, including Minwu, Josef, Ricard and Gordon. Leon (Maria’s brother) disappears after the prologue, later re-emerging under mysterious circumstances.

New Storyline: Soul of Rebirth In Final Fantasy II’s main story, Minwu, Scott, Josef and Ricard are all killed. While Firion and his allies continue waging war against the Palamecia Empire, the fallen heroes fight on in another world, where they must defeat the emperor of Pandaemonium.


On true Final Fantasy fashion, you and your fellow adventurers roam the creature-filled countryside in your quest to stop evil. Along the way, you visit towns and interact with many characters. Using the spells, information and items you obtain, you gain experience and improve your abilities. Together, the two completely independent sagas of Final Fantasy I & II deliver more than 80 hours of rich and exciting gameplay.

Special powers/weapons/moves/features: In Final Fantasy II, you collect exciting weapons and spells, add members to your group and enhance their abilities. The GBA version features improved battle and menu systems and improved item and magic effectiveness. You can also save your game wherever you are instead of having to go to a specific location.


Besides improving the battle, magic, control and game systems, Final Fantasy I and II feature updated dialogue and even more drama. You can also can receive items from slain monsters and save your progress anywhere.

Bottom Line

These great games launched the most famous RPG series of all time. If you're a video-game fan, Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls is a must.

Game score 8.3 / 10 calculated out of 86 players' votes.  

See/Add Comments