Newsroom News Breaking Comics Tags RSS
News video games 03 November 2023, 15:45

Chris Metzen Announces Three DLCs for WoW at BlizzCon

Chris Metzen has returned to World of Warcraft and immediately shocked the fans. Blizzard announced as many as three expansion for this MMORPG.

Source: Blizzard Entertainment.

One might have expected, that the tenth expansion for World of Warcraft would be announced at the opening ceremony of BlizzCon 2023. Meanwhile, Blizzard - and specifically Chris Metzen, a veteran of the universe who recently has once again taken the helm of it - has revealed as many as three upcoming expansions. They bear the titles:

  1. The War Within;
  2. Midnight;
  3. The Last Titan.

Below you can watch an impressive trailer for the first of the DLCs. It will be released first - in the fall of 2024.

The expansions represent a new story line in the universe of WoW. It has been referred to as the Worldsoul Saga. Chris Metzen assured that it will be such an epic story that one expansion will not be enough to tell it fully. Therefore, it is to consist of these three expansions, which will be released over several years.

The first one, The War Within, will enable the players to visit never-seen underground lands, "full of hidden wonders and dangers lurking for the adventurers." They will lead all the way to the dark abysses of the nerubian empire, where the Harbinger of the Void gathers the arachnids with whom she intends to conquer all of Azeroth.

It is worth mentioning that pre-sale of the The War Within have already launched. It is available on in three versions - Basic, Heroic and Epic, costing €49.99, €69.99 and €89.99, respectively. The graphic below shows what elements are included in each of these editions.

Chris Metzen Announces Three DLCs for WoW at BlizzCon - picture #1

Blizzard Entertainment.

The War Within will offer, among other things:

  1. the land of Khaz Algar, divided into four zones, which is the home of the Earthen - a race forged by titans (these zones are: Isle of Dorn, The Ringing Deeps, Hallowfall and Azj-Kahet);
  2. a new playable race - Earthen;
  3. increased maximum character level - up to 80;
  4. Warbands system, enabling you to share your progress with other characters within a single account;
  5. hero talent trees providing new skills;
  6. Delves - treasure-filled endgame dungeons, where we will go alone or in groups of 4;
  7. new dungeons and raids;
  8. expanded mount flying mechanics, which we know from Dragonflight.

These novelties are presented in detail in the trailer below.

  1. World of Warcraft - official website

Hubert Sledziewski

Hubert Sledziewski

Has been writing professionally since 2016. He joined five years later - although he has known the service since he had access to the internet - to combine his love for words and games. Deals mainly with news and journalism. A sociologist by education, a gamer by passion. He started his gaming adventure at the age of four - with a Pegasus. Currently, prefers PC and demanding RPGs, but does not shy away from consoles or other genres. When he's not playing or writing, he enjoys reading, watching series (less often movies) and Premier League matches, listening to heavy music, and also walking the dog. Almost uncritically loves the work of Stephen King. Does not abandon plans to follow in his footsteps. However, he keeps his first "literary achievements" locked away deep in a drawer.