Games Encyclopedia Top Games PC PS4 PS3 Xbox One Xbox 360 Switch Android iOS Rankings Images Companies
Game Box for Collection of Mana (Switch)

Collection of Mana Switch

A collection of the first three parts of the classic jRPG action under the Man's banner, which appeared in the first half of the 1990s on Game Boy and SNES consoles. The titles in the collection have been made available in their original and unchanged form.

RPG | fantasy | 2D | package | multiplayer | reeditions/remasters/remakes | co-op | action RPG | jRPG

Nintendo Switch
Collection of Mana cover

developer: Square-Enix / Eidos

publisher: Square-Enix / Eidos

Official website

Game mode: single / multiplayer

Multiplayer mode: common screen, players: 1-3

English language game language: English

game release date for Switch:


Collection of Mana is a collection of the first three installments in the Mana (Japanese Seiken Densetsu) series, which were originally released in the first half of the 90's. The gamescreated by Squaresoft (today Square-Enix) are among the first available on the market JRPG. The series began in 1991 on the portable Game Boy as a spin-off to the Final Fantasy series, strongly inspired by The Legend of Zelda. The new series has reached its peak of popularity on the SNES console, which features two of its most important and best-rated installments - Secret of Mana and Trials of Mana. After the Legend of Mana premiere on the first PlayStation, the brand began to fall into oblivion. After several years, mainly thanks to loyal fans, Square Enix returned to the series by offering mobile reissues and reeditions, such as the 2018's Secret of Mana on PlayStation 4, PlayStation Vita, and PC.

Collection of Mana set includes games:

  1. Mystic Quest (jap. Seiken Densetsu; the original year of publication: 1991) - the first installment in the series, which was released on the portable Game Boy. It is worth mentioning that in the United States the game is known as Final Fantasy: Adventure. The player takes on the role of one of the enslaved gladiators fighting to the delight of the Dark Lord. One day, the hero learns that his torturer is close to finding a way to reach the legendary Mana Tree, which will give him full and eternal power over the world. The protagonist escapes from captivity and decides to thwart his plans.
  2. Secret of Mana (jap. Seiken Densetsu 2; the original year of publication: 1993) - the game tells the story of a young man named Randi. One day, when he is in a forest near his village, a mysterious voice directs him to a clearing with a magical sword. This begins a sequence of events, eventually placing on the boy's shoulders the duty to stop the evil Empire from reactivating the sky-high fortress which, centuries ago, almost brought civilization to an end.
  3. Trials of Mana (jap. Seiken Densetsu 2; the original year of publication: 1995) - the production takes us to a world in which the word Mana is used to describe the ethereal and ubiquitous energy created by the goddess, who by forging a magic sword saved the world from eight divine beasts. After this heroic act, she fell asleep and turned into a mana tree. The story takes place long after these events, when the defeated monsters wake up to life, and Mana begins to disappear from the face of the earth, ending the era of peace and prosperity. During the game we follow the fate of several different heroes, whose paths cross in an unexpected way.

Trials of Mana Announced For 2020; Collection of Mana Gets Released Today
Trials of Mana Announced For 2020; Collection of Mana Gets Released Today

news 11 June 2019 19:23

During Nintendo Direct at E3 2019 Expo, a remake of the classic jRPG Trials of Mana was announced, which will be available for sale in 2020. From now on, Nintendo Switch owners can buy a collection of all three parts of the Mana series, released on Game Boy and SNES consoles.

See/Add Comments