"YouTube may terminate your access, or your Google account’s access to all or part of the Service if YouTube believes, in its sole discretion, that provision of the Service to you is no longer commercially viable."
The change in the website's policy may be problematic in particular for developers, whose number of subscribers is currently not too large. If their channels don't earn enough money, they can simply be removed. As TechSpot points out, YouTube could have created a gate to removing channels that promote hate speech, conspiracy theories or faux news whose content is not extreme enough to justify closing the channel in any other way.
Although the ghost of closing unprofitable channels sounds scary, we probably have nothing to worry about.
"We're not changing the way our products work, how we collect or process data, or any of your settings. We're also not changing how we work with creators, nor their rights over their works, or their right to monetize," said YouTube spokeswoman Ivy Choi in an e-mail to PCMag.
If you are banned or your videos are deleted, YouTube will send a notification to the email adress that has been assigned to your account. You will still be able to view YouTube content, but you will not be able to comment or upload videos. Users may of course appeal against any judgment if they consider that they have been unfairly treated.