Newsroom News Breaking Comics Tags
News video games 18 April 2016, 18:16

author: luckie

Battlezone 98 Redux is out today; Rebellion promises more remasters in the future

Battlezone 98 Redux has just launched on Steam today. Having released the HD edition of the classic sci-fi strategy, Rebellion says that more remasters are planned in the future.

Surprise, surprise, Battlezone 98 Redux is actually launching today. The game has become available on Steam at 5 PM BST / 12 PM EST / 9 AM PST, where it is priced at $19.99, but for the first week on sale you can get it at a 20% discount. Developed by Big Boat Interactive and published by Rebellion, the remastered version of the sci-fi strategy offers HD graphics with high-polygon vehicles and environments, as well as improved lighting, shadows and particle effects. Players can also make use of Steam Workshop mods and other functionalities of the platform. In terms of content, this is the same Battlezone as the fans know it, featuring two single player campaigns and multiplayer mode for up to 8 people.

With Battlezone 98 Redux out there for us to play, Rebellion has announced that even more Redux remasters can be expected in the future. The company has a wide catalogue of games, spearheaded by Aliens vs Predator from 1999, but they have yet to reveal which one is next in line.

Fans of the Battlezone franchise are also most probably waiting for Rebellion’s VR-oriented Battlezone – a remake of the 1980 arcade classic coming for PC and PlayStation 4 in 2016.

See/Add Comments