Editorials Reviews Previews Essays Worth Playing

Game reviews 7

Reviews and scores of the most important and popular video games

Platform
Genre
Previous Years
There's More to The Sims 4 Eco Lifestyle than Sexy Times in Dumpsters

There's More to The Sims 4 Eco Lifestyle than Sexy Times in Dumpsters

revisiting23 May 2020

I played The Sims 4 Eco Lifestyle. I hugged bugs and garbage bags. I slept in a dumpster, I ate in it, used it as a place to cultivate the body and soul; it was a source of livelihood. It was my personal IKEA. And I could slide ladders like firemen!

There's More to The Sims 4 Eco Lifestyle than Sexy Times in Dumpsters
Weird Times, When Online Shooter Preserves Friendship

Weird Times, When Online Shooter Preserves Friendship

revisiting21 May 2020

Call of Duty: Warzone moved my entire social life to the fictional Verdansk. Unfortunately, all my problems followed.

Weird Times, When Online Shooter Preserves Friendship
Gears Tactics Review – Tactical Strategy for Dummies

Gears Tactics Review – Tactical Strategy for Dummies

game review28 April 2020

The Gears of War series just got a new entry, but this time, we don't pull the trigger – we tell others when to do it and who to shoot at. How do you make a strategy out of a shooter?

Gears Tactics Review – Tactical Strategy for Dummies
Escape from Tarkov – Difficult Love, Love Nontheless

Escape from Tarkov – Difficult Love, Love Nontheless

revisiting26 April 2020

Escape from Tarkov is still a technical mess after all the years. It makes you more stressed than relaxed, it keeps taking things away, it's completely unpredictable. And yet I still love this game.

Escape from Tarkov – Difficult Love, Love Nontheless
XCOM: Chimera Squad – Inexpensive, but Not Cheap

XCOM: Chimera Squad – Inexpensive, but Not Cheap

game review24 April 2020

XCOM: Chimera Squad came right out of the blue – like a flying saucer crashing on a radio tower; we're not even back on our feet, and the game's already on Steam.

XCOM: Chimera Squad – Inexpensive, but Not Cheap
5 Reasons to Love Fallout 76

5 Reasons to Love Fallout 76

revisiting21 April 2020

Can you like Fallout 76? You sure can – I do and I'm not ashamed of it! I can even give you five good reasons why that is.

5 Reasons to Love Fallout 76
The Division's Depiction of Epidemic is Way Too Real

The Division's Depiction of Epidemic is Way Too Real

revisiting11 April 2020

The first part of The Division did not have an impressive plot, but the collectibles contain something more interesting. The chronicle of the outbreak, which is eerily reminiscent of current developments in New York and elsewhere in the world.

The Division's Depiction of Epidemic is Way Too Real
Final Fantasy VII Remake – Review of the Most Iconic jRPG Ever

Final Fantasy VII Remake – Review of the Most Iconic jRPG Ever

game review06 April 2020

Final Fantasy VII Remake is definitely more than a game calculated to prey on nostalgia. In fact, it's probably Square Enix' bravest game in many years. You don't want to miss this adventure.

Final Fantasy VII Remake – Review of the Most Iconic jRPG Ever
Playing Bannerlord I Have One Question: Why Did They Need a Decade?!

Playing Bannerlord I Have One Question: Why Did They Need a Decade?!

revisiting02 April 2020

Mount and Blade 2 enters Steam – it's early access, but still. You can pay and you can play. I played, and you know what? It feels exactly the same as in the original, with emphasis on "exactly the same." What have they been doing these 10 years?

Playing Bannerlord I Have One Question: Why Did They Need a Decade?!
Half-Life Alyx Review – the Best Game You'll Never Play

Half-Life Alyx Review – the Best Game You'll Never Play

game review30 March 2020

Half-Life is one of the most important series that has changed the face of video games forever. Alyx is not only one of the best VR games I have played. It's one of the best games I've ever played!

Half-Life Alyx Review – the Best Game You'll Never Play
Doom Eternal Review – Demon's is in the Details

Doom Eternal Review – Demon's is in the Details

game review17 March 2020

Doom Eternal improves on and adds to the formula of the previous so intently that sometimes it feels exaggerated. Luckily, the game provides unmatched experience of murdering demons. In this competition, Slayer offers an eternal guarantee of quality.

Doom Eternal Review – Demon's is in the Details
Animal Crossing: New Horizons Review – Just Chill, Relax and Play

Animal Crossing: New Horizons Review – Just Chill, Relax and Play

game review16 March 2020

Animal Crossing: New Horizons will become part of your daily routine. Besides work, school, lunches and meetings with friends, you will catch butterflies and fish every day. And you're gonna enjoy it, because it's one of the best games of the year.

Animal Crossing: New Horizons Review – Just Chill, Relax and Play
Call of Duty Warzone in Free-to-Play – Finally, Mature Fortnite!

Call of Duty Warzone in Free-to-Play – Finally, Mature Fortnite!

revisiting13 March 2020

Modern Warfare: Warzone is a correct royal battle, with all the burden and blessings of this genre, and a few interesting solutions. Still, it's biggest advantage is that it's a free and modern Call of Duty!

Call of Duty Warzone in Free-to-Play – Finally, Mature Fortnite!
Nioh 2 Review – Make Me Wanna Die 1000 Times

Nioh 2 Review – Make Me Wanna Die 1000 Times

game review10 March 2020

When I started writing this review, I was tempted to follow Team Ninja's example and just copy whole paragraphs from the first game text, change headlines and add a few small changes. Fun fact: that review would mostly be accurate and relevant.

Nioh 2 Review – Make Me Wanna Die 1000 Times
How to Make a Perfect Game? Ori and the Will of the Wisps Review

How to Make a Perfect Game? Ori and the Will of the Wisps Review

game review10 March 2020

Ori and the Blind Forest was an outstanding game. Its creators were probably aware of this and knew that in order for the sequel to match the original, several changes had to be made. Did it work?

How to Make a Perfect Game? Ori and the Will of the Wisps Review
Spending $10 to do Laundry in The Sims 4 was the Worst Decision I Made This Year

Spending $10 to do Laundry in The Sims 4 was the Worst Decision I Made This Year

revisiting09 March 2020

I'm a lady and I love to do laundry. I also like to vacuum. I hate to cook for it, I swear like a shoemaker and I can't walk in heels. But I do love doing laundry – so much, that I paid for a laundry related add-on to The Sims 4. It was a bad decision.

Spending $10 to do Laundry in The Sims 4 was the Worst Decision I Made This Year
The Last Sky – Road to Nirvana

The Last Sky – Road to Nirvana

game review04 March 2020

The Last Sky is a blend of exploratory adventure and classic platformer. The protagonist is Jake, a war veteran struggling with PTSD, trying to answer the question "what hurts more – what we've done upon others, or what others have done upon us?".

The Last Sky – Road to Nirvana
Corruption 2029 Review – Cyborgs Lose to Mutants

Corruption 2029 Review – Cyborgs Lose to Mutants

game review25 February 2020

This wasn't supposed to be another major production from the creators of Mutant Year Zero. But hardly anyone expected so many simplifications in the gameplay formula. Fortunately, the very core of the mechanics remained intact.

Corruption 2029 Review – Cyborgs Lose to Mutants
The Suicide of Rachel Foster Review – Edith Finch Meets Firewatch

The Suicide of Rachel Foster Review – Edith Finch Meets Firewatch

game review24 February 2020

As the market is saturated with cheap walking sims, it’s getting harder and harder to find an outstanding game in this genre. Developers of The Suicide of Rachel Foster, however, managed to create one. It’s a thrilling adventure you don’t want to miss.

The Suicide of Rachel Foster Review – Edith Finch Meets Firewatch
Wolcen Review – Devilishly Difficult Love

Wolcen Review – Devilishly Difficult Love

game review21 February 2020

Wolcen: The Lords of Mayhem, an independent hack'n'slash, scored a dragon entrance that other Diablo competitors - Path of Exile and Grim Dawn - could only dream of. See why this hack'n'slash has caused so much excitement.

Wolcen Review – Devilishly Difficult Love
The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics Review – Surprisingly good adaptation!

The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics Review – Surprisingly good adaptation!

game review10 February 2020

Games based on movies or TV series are usually really bad. The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics definitely bucks the trend, and is as successful in that, as the Skeks' invasion of the planet Thra.

The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics Review – Surprisingly good adaptation!
Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD Switch Review – Wild West Like You've Never Seen It

Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD Switch Review – Wild West Like You've Never Seen It

game review29 January 2020

Even though it's fifteen years old, Stranger's Wrath is still holding on well, mainly thanks to the extraordinary gunplay and the fascinating game world. But the port on Switch is sloppy, and could have been a lot better.

Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD Switch Review – Wild West Like You've Never Seen It
Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot Review – Five Days of Fun with Average Game

Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot Review – Five Days of Fun with Average Game

game review24 January 2020

Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is a game for fans still overflowing with sentiment to Son Goku. And only for them. Everyone else should keep on looking.

Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot Review – Five Days of Fun with Average Game
Transport Fever 2 Review - Good Sim; Poor Tycoon

Transport Fever 2 Review - Good Sim; Poor Tycoon

game review11 December 2019

Three years seems about enough time to pin-point the shortcomings that stop a good game from being great. Have Urban Games managed to do just that, and is their new Transport Fever 2 a game to match the legendary Transport Tycoon?

Transport Fever 2 Review - Good Sim; Poor Tycoon

We have reviewed over 290 games. If you're looking for professional editorial reviews, ratings, exhaustive tests, or you don't know which computer, console or mobile game to buy - here you will find our recommendations on which games are worth it, and which should be avoided. We especially recommend our reviews of Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Extraction, God of War.