Newsroom News Breaking Comics Tags RSS
News video games 19 August 2020, 19:34

author: Jacob Blazewicz

FIFA 21 Without Cross-play

Electronic Arts has commented on the cross-play feature in FIFA 21. Unfortunately, the publisher does not intend to enable cross-play, even between PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5 or Xbox One and Xbox Series X users.

Virtual FIFA will have to do without cross-play. Again.

In recent weeks there has been more information about the new installment of the FIFA series. Unfortunately, one of them will not please fans of the soccer series. The thing is, the owners of PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One and Xbox Series X will only be able to play online with other users of the same platform.

In theory, this should not come as a surprise. Until now, no installment has allowed for cross-platform gaming, just like the competitive PES. This was supposed to result from differences in the code of individual games. However, in the case of this year's installment the issue is complicated by the appearance of the ninth generation of home consoles. This is supposed to happen during the holiday season (in the case of XSX: in November), i.e. after the debut of the new FIFA. That's why some players hoped that this time EA would decide to add cross-play functionality, especially since it is supported by many popular multiplayer titles. Hope was fuelled by the announcement of free console updated of the game on PS5 or XSX for players who will purchase it on Sony and Microsoft's current-gen platforms. This was enough for some to start believing in the ability to play together with other players, even if only between PlayStation and Xbox users.

Soccer games are still against cross-platform gameplay.

As a consolation, the creators of FIFA 21 have confirmed that it is possible to transfer progress in FIFA Ultimate Team mode if we decide to take advantage of the free upgrade to next-gen platform from the same manufacturer (for example, from PS4 to PS5). The new FIFA will make its debut on October 9, on PC, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch and PlayStation 4, and later also on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X and Google Stadia.

See/Add Comments