Newsroom News Breaking Comics Tags RSS
News video games 09 October 2021, 22:20

author: Paul Musiolik

Original GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas Will Soon be Pulled From Digital Stores

GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas will be removed from digital stores in a few days. Rockstar Games announced its decision shortly after the remasters were announced.

  1. Rockstar Games announced that the original versions of the games included in the refreshedGTA trilogy will be pulled from digital distribution;
  2. Those who bought the titles earlier will still be able to download them.

Shortly after yesterday's announcement of GTA: The Trilogy - The Definitive Edition Rockstar Games informed that older versions of the three refreshed titles will be pulled from digital stores across all platforms (PC, PlayStation, Xbox and mobile devices).

Grand Theft Auto III, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas will be pulled from sale on October 11. Thus, the trilogy will not be available for digital purchase until the refreshed versions are released. Those who have bought the games before will fortunately still be able to download them without too much trouble. So if you're keen on the originals in digital edition, hurry up with your purchases.

Rockstar's decision met with huge criticism from the community. It's hard to understand the developer's decision, especially since the devs of refreshed edition of Mafia: The City of Lost Heaven didn't decide on a similar move and its original version is still available. What do the two games have in common? Take-Two, which owns both 2K Games and Rockstar Games.

All we know about the new trilogy is that the games will be visually refreshed (rumor has it that Unreal Engine 4 technology will be used) while retaining the artistic style of the originals, and selected mechanics will be adjusted to the modern-day standards. The set's release date? Officially 2021 (2022 for mobile devices), and according to rumors provided by Tom Henderson - November 11.

  1. Rockstar Games - official website
See/Add Comments