Editorials Reviews Previews Essays Worth Playing

2021Top previews

Game previews published in 2021.

Valheim - the Hot New Online Survival

Valheim - the Hot New Online Survival

game preview12 February 2021

Survival games have been wildly popular, but not many of them absolutely conquered hearts and minds of hundreds of thousands of players, getting 96% positive reviews out of almost 17 thousand. What's all the fuss about? Valheim .

Valheim - the Hot New Online Survival
Hokko Life Early Access Review: Hmmm, I Think I’ve Played this Game Before...

Hokko Life Early Access Review: Hmmm, I Think I’ve Played this Game Before...

game preview28 May 2021

Hokko Life is a good game and a great copy of Animal Crossing. Unfortunately, it doesn't try to be original in any way.

Hokko Life Early Access Review: Hmmm, I Think I’ve Played this Game Before...
New World Has Me Worried Right Before the Release

New World Has Me Worried Right Before the Release

game preview23 July 2021

The beta is about to begin, and the release is coming soon. Amazon, on the other hand, seems to have made a few wrong decisions late in the development.

New World Has Me Worried Right Before the Release
The Best Battlefield is The Crazy Battlefield

The Best Battlefield is The Crazy Battlefield

game preview02 July 2021

The first presentation of Battlefield 2042 has outraged some fans, who accuse the game of deviating into completely unrealistic gameplay. BF ended with Kill 'Em All. But I think Battlefield is returning to its golden days.

The Best Battlefield is The Crazy Battlefield
Battlefield Portal Announcement - Hot Cake, or GLaDOS in Disguise?

Battlefield Portal Announcement - Hot Cake, or GLaDOS in Disguise?

game preview22 July 2021

The classic Battlefield installments finally return in a refreshed version! But not quite in the form we expected – the new Battlefield Portal service is as hopeful as it is risky.

Battlefield Portal Announcement - Hot Cake, or GLaDOS in Disguise?
Great Expectations and Great Turmoil - Star Citizen, and Its $95 Million

Great Expectations and Great Turmoil - Star Citizen, and Its $95 Million

game preview27 November 2021

Star Citizen is a very promising project – after all, it raised $95 million in crowdfunding. What's the progress after so many years? Will the turbulence around the title affect the quality of the final product?

Great Expectations and Great Turmoil - Star Citizen, and Its $95 Million
The Medium Preview - Bloober Team Brings "Silent Hill in Poland"

The Medium Preview - Bloober Team Brings "Silent Hill in Poland"

game preview07 January 2021

The Medium is one of the most promising games of 2021 and a chance for the Xbox platform to get a really good exclusive title that PS5 will envy. The new horror of the Polish studio Bloober Team looks promising.

The Medium Preview - Bloober Team Brings "Silent Hill in Poland"
Hitman 3 Hands-on - Fans of Agent 47 in For a Treat!

Hitman 3 Hands-on - Fans of Agent 47 in For a Treat!

game preview12 January 2021

IO Interactive is operating much like 47 – patiently, precisely, and methodically. The studio is making incremental changes to the stealth formula and is closer than ever to creating the perfect Hitman.

Hitman 3 Hands-on - Fans of Agent 47 in For a Treat!
Mass Effect: Legendary Edition Preview - Ultimate Reason to (Re)play Mass Effect

Mass Effect: Legendary Edition Preview - Ultimate Reason to (Re)play Mass Effect

game preview02 February 2021

Mass Effect and Shepard's story is a memory of Bioware's heydays for many. We've seen snippets of the remaster, talked to the developers, and here's how they want to convince us to face the Reapers again. We also know the release date.

Mass Effect: Legendary Edition Preview - Ultimate Reason to (Re)play Mass Effect
Encased Preview - Post-Apocalyptic Old School!

Encased Preview - Post-Apocalyptic Old School!

game preview29 July 2021

Encased is an interesting return to the past - old school, but done with class. We talked to the game's creators about what inspired them. Read our interview.

Encased Preview - Post-Apocalyptic Old School!
Back 4 Blood Preview - A Bloody Good Time

Back 4 Blood Preview - A Bloody Good Time

game preview11 August 2021

Left 4 Dead's successor and the new hope of multiplayer games. We played Back 4 Blood and really enjoyed it. It's bloody, it's challenging - and above all, there are a lot of zombies.

Back 4 Blood Preview - A Bloody Good Time
Clid the Snail Preview - It's Earthworm Jim Goes To Hell!

Clid the Snail Preview - It's Earthworm Jim Goes To Hell!

game preview12 August 2021

Fun with anthropomorphic gastropods in a bleak, dystopian future. Yeehaa. Read our Clid The Snail preview.

Clid the Snail Preview - It's Earthworm Jim Goes To Hell!
Call of Duty: Vanguard Preview - The Return of Iconic Fronts of WW2

Call of Duty: Vanguard Preview - The Return of Iconic Fronts of WW2

game preview19 August 2021

CoD: Vanguard returns to World War II and goes back to the roots. We will once again visit Stalingrad, North Africa, Normandy and the Pacific. Will Sledgehammer Games really manage to bring back the golden days of WW2 shooters?

Call of Duty: Vanguard Preview - The Return of Iconic Fronts of WW2
Saints Row 5 Won't be Saints Row. New Direction for the Series is Coming

Saints Row 5 Won't be Saints Row. New Direction for the Series is Coming

game preview26 August 2021

Saints Row: Self Made is the announced title of entry number five. New direction means less craziness, no rubbernecking, and no kitsch. Does it make sense? I'm still looking for the answer to that question, though I tentatively like it.

Saints Row 5 Won't be Saints Row. New Direction for the Series is Coming
Battlefield 2042 is the Return of the Good Old BF!

Battlefield 2042 is the Return of the Good Old BF!

game preview11 October 2021

Do you know this joke? "What did Battlefield series need the most? Modern warfare." The first hours with the beta of Batlefield 2042 prove that the atmosphere from parts three and four is back in full force!

Battlefield 2042 is the Return of the Good Old BF!
My Love-Hate Relationship With Age of Darkness

My Love-Hate Relationship With Age of Darkness

game preview12 October 2021

The Dark Souls of RTS debuted in Early Access – it's called Age of Darkness: Final Stand. This production made me fall into an abyss of madness and despair. Here's why.

My Love-Hate Relationship With Age of Darkness
Far Cry 6 Preview - War Drama vs. Teen Comedy

Far Cry 6 Preview - War Drama vs. Teen Comedy

game preview28 May 2021

The latest Far Cry features a huge open world, a vicious civil war on a tropical paradise island, and a psychologically complex enemy to contend with. With yet another installment, the series strives to mix its pedigree with fresh ideas.

Far Cry 6 Preview - War Drama vs. Teen Comedy
Humankind Hands-on - Civilization Hardcore

Humankind Hands-on - Civilization Hardcore

game preview02 June 2021

The new 4X strategy game, Humankind, seems to be on track for a postponed August release. Civilization fans, however, should expect a bit more complicated entertainment, because in addition to its advantages, the game has some visible shortcomings.

Humankind Hands-on - Civilization Hardcore
Blood Bowl 3 Preview: A Different Kind of Fantasy Football

Blood Bowl 3 Preview: A Different Kind of Fantasy Football

game preview08 June 2021

Blood Bowl 3 is expected to be released in early 2022, but the beta available now on Steam puts a new meaning to the phrase “fantasy football”. Fans of the board games will feel right at home.

Blood Bowl 3 Preview: A Different Kind of Fantasy Football
Rainbow Six Extraction Hands-on - Ubisoft Envies CoD's Zombie Mode

Rainbow Six Extraction Hands-on - Ubisoft Envies CoD's Zombie Mode

game preview12 June 2021

For years, the Rainbow Six series was primarily about tactical gameplay with special forces. This time, the game takes our operators to a world taken straight from Stranger Things and pretends it's not the zombie mode from Call of Duty.

Rainbow Six Extraction Hands-on - Ubisoft Envies CoD's Zombie Mode
Terra Nil preview - The World's Not Over Yet

Terra Nil preview - The World's Not Over Yet

game preview16 June 2021

Can you imagine a city builder with no cities? Terra Nil is exactly that - beautiful, relaxing, and giving tons of fun. It really is unique.

Terra Nil preview - The World's Not Over Yet
Forza Horizon 5 Looks Stunning, Leaves Competition Behind

Forza Horizon 5 Looks Stunning, Leaves Competition Behind

game preview19 June 2021

The new Forza Horizon once again crushes the competition, not only with sensational graphics. The game will be accessible to everyone, is coming soon, and will be included in Game Pass! Can Gran Turismo even hold a candle to it anymore?

Forza Horizon 5 Looks Stunning, Leaves Competition Behind
Naraka: Bladepoint preview - A Melee-Focused Battle Royale

Naraka: Bladepoint preview - A Melee-Focused Battle Royale

game preview21 June 2021

Think you’ve played every battle royale out there? Naraka: Bladepoint wants you to experience a new kind of game with its fluid melee-focused combat that makes you feel like a martial arts superstar.

Naraka: Bladepoint preview - A Melee-Focused Battle Royale
Hot Wheels Unleashed Preview - Tiny Cars Big Ambitions!

Hot Wheels Unleashed Preview - Tiny Cars Big Ambitions!

game preview24 June 2021

The iconic cars are back – Hot Wheels Unleashed is an interesting racing game for kids. And for those who have collected famous cars. And for those who have ever stepped on them.

Hot Wheels Unleashed Preview - Tiny Cars Big Ambitions!
Casual Simulation? Microsoft Flight Simulator on Next-Gen Xbox Aims for Accessibility

Casual Simulation? Microsoft Flight Simulator on Next-Gen Xbox Aims for Accessibility

game preview26 June 2021

After a year of waiting, the most hardware-intensive PC game will land on Xbox Series X/S consoles. What new features will Microsoft Flight Simulator offer in an environment so alien to simulators?

Casual Simulation? Microsoft Flight Simulator on Next-Gen Xbox Aims for Accessibility
Death's Door preview - Overarching, Somber Yet Wryly Humorous

Death's Door preview - Overarching, Somber Yet Wryly Humorous

game preview30 June 2021

Death's Door is an interesting game that can be a lot of fun even before its release. We have already played it - read our preview.

Death's Door preview - Overarching, Somber Yet Wryly Humorous
Resident Evil: Village Preview - Legendary Series Finally Reinvented

Resident Evil: Village Preview - Legendary Series Finally Reinvented

game preview19 April 2021

I admit – from the very first previews of Resident Evil: Village, I wasn't convinced about the upcoming game. However, when I saw it in action, everything changed.

Resident Evil: Village Preview - Legendary Series Finally Reinvented
Chivalry 2 Preview - Another Bloody Good Time

Chivalry 2 Preview - Another Bloody Good Time

game preview21 April 2021

Looking and playing better than ever, Chivalry returns with even more weapons, larger maps, and all the gore of the original. We took our sword out for a spin during a closed beta event and learned that swords are heavy and can really cut people in half.

Chivalry 2 Preview - Another Bloody Good Time
Elite Dangerous: Odyssey Alpha Preview - Back "to Earth"

Elite Dangerous: Odyssey Alpha Preview - Back "to Earth"

game preview23 April 2021

After years, fans of Elite Dangerous: Odyssey finally get the space legs – they can get off their ships and head off to fight or explore the world on their own. Odyssey is a journey into the unknown – also for the developers from Frontier studio.

Elite Dangerous: Odyssey Alpha Preview - Back "to Earth"
Expeditions Rome Preview: as Big as an Empire

Expeditions Rome Preview: as Big as an Empire

game preview03 May 2021

Expeditions: Rome is the next installment of the well-known series. This time we'll compete in Rome - we've already seen the game and we're glad this niche genre isn't dead yet.

Expeditions Rome Preview: as Big as an Empire